Catholic Archdiocese of Lagos
Nigeria
Connect with Us:            
Home       Contact Us

   Homilies/Reflections

 
33rd Sunday C
By FR JULIUS OLAITAN              Sun, 17 Nov 2019
33rd SUNDAY C   Not one stone…   We give thanks as we begin a new week. The liturg

Saturday week 32
By FR JULIUS OLAITAN              Sat, 16 Nov 2019
November 16, 2019 (Saturday of Week 32 Year I)   Will not God vindicate his elect   Dear

Friday week 32
By FR JULIUS OLAITAN              Fri, 15 Nov 2019
November 15, 2019 (Friday of Week 32 Year I: St Albert the Great)   As in the days of Noah  

Wednesday week 34
By FR JULIUS OLAITAN              Thu, 14 Nov 2019
November 14, 2019 (Thursday of week 32 Year I)   In your midst   Dear friends in Christ,

Wednesday week 32
By FR JULIUS OLAITAN              Wed, 13 Nov 2019
November 13, 2019 (Wednesday of week 32Year I)   Were not ten…   Dear friends in C

Tuesday week 32
By FR JULIUS OLAITAN              Tue, 12 Nov 2019
November 12, 2019 (Tuesday of week 32 Year I: St Josaphat)   Just our duty   Dear friends

Monday week 32
By FR JULIUS OLAITAN              Mon, 11 Nov 2019
November 11, 2019 (Monday of Week 32 Year I: St Martin of Tours)   Lord increase our faith  

32nd Sunday C
By FR JULIUS OLAITAN              Sun, 10 Nov 2019
32ND SUNDAY C   GOD OF THE LIVING Dear friends in Christ, today’s liturgy invites us to ponder &

Lateran Basilica
By FR JULIUS OLAITAN              Sat, 09 Nov 2019
November 9, 2019 (Dedication of the Lateran Basilica—Feast)   I saw water   Dear fr

10 Friday week 31
By FR JULIUS OLAITAN              Fri, 08 Nov 2019
November 8, 2019 (Friday of week 31 Year I)   The Sons of the world   Dear friends in Chr

11 Thursday week 31
By FR JULIUS OLAITAN              Thu, 07 Nov 2019
November 7, 2019 (Thursday of week 31, Year I)   More joy in heaven   Dear friends in Chr

12 Wednesday week 31
By FR JULIUS OLAITAN              Wed, 06 Nov 2019
November 6, 2019 (Wednesday of week 31 Year I)   Not worthy of me   Dear friends in Chris

13 Tuesday week 31
By FR JULIUS OLAITAN              Tue, 05 Nov 2019
November 5, 2019 (Tuesday of Week 31 Year I)   All is ready   Dear friends in Christ, how

14 31st Sunday C 2019
By FR JULIUS OLAITAN              Sun, 03 Nov 2019
31ST SUNDAY C   TO SEEK AND TO SAVE   My dear friends in Christ, the Bible of full of ins

15 All Saints
By FR JULIUS OLAITAN              Fri, 01 Nov 2019
November 1, 2019 SOLEMNITY OF ALL SAINTS   Blessed are the merciful &n

16 Courage In The Face Of Evil
By Religious              Thu, 31 Oct 2019
Like John the Baptist and all the prophets who preceded him, Jesus posed a threat to the ruling authorities of his day.  He knew that he would suffer the same fate as the prophets who came bef

17 Thursday week 30
By FR JULIUS OLAITAN              Thu, 31 Oct 2019
October 31, 2019 (Thursday of Week 30 Year I)   What can come between us and Christ   Dea

18 God’s Invitation Is Open To All
By Religious              Wed, 30 Oct 2019
Jesus' story about the door being shut to those who come too late suggests they had offended their host and deserved to be excluded. Jesus told this story in response to the question of who will ma

19 Wednesday week 30
By FR JULIUS OLAITAN              Wed, 30 Oct 2019
October 30, 2019 (Wednesday of Week 30 Year I)   Lord open to us   Dear friends in Christ

20 The Need To Grow
By Religious              Tue, 29 Oct 2019
Like the story of the mustard seed, God's kingdom works in a similar fashion. It starts from the smallest beginnings in the hearts of men and women who are receptive to God's word. And it works unseen

21 Tuesday week 30
By FR JULIUS OLAITAN              Tue, 29 Oct 2019
October 29, 2019 (Tuesday of Week 30 Year I)   Like mustard seed   Dear friends in Christ

22 God’s Unique Ways
By Religious              Mon, 28 Oct 2019
In the choice of the twelve in today’s gospel, we see a characteristic feature of God's work: Jesus chose very ordinary men. They were non-professionals, who had no wealth or position. 

23 Monday week 30
By FR JULIUS OLAITAN              Mon, 28 Oct 2019
October 28, 2019 (Feast of Sts Simon and Jude Apostles)   He chose them   Dear friends in

24 Be Not Proud
By Religious              Sun, 27 Oct 2019
Jesus' parable speaks about the nature of prayer and our relationship with God.  It does this by contrasting two very different attitudes towards prayer.  The Pharisee, who represented th

25 30th Sunday C
By FR JULIUS OLAITAN              Sun, 27 Oct 2019
30th Sunday C   GOD BE MERCIFUL TO ME

26 God Is Patient
By Religious              Sat, 26 Oct 2019
The parable in today’s gospel depicts the patience of God, but it also contains a warning that we should not presume upon it. God gives us time to get right with him, but that time is now. We

27 Saturday week 29
By FR JULIUS OLAITAN              Sat, 26 Oct 2019
October 26, 2019 (Saturday of Week 29 Year I)   They are no worse sinners…   Dear

28 Get It Right With God
By Religious              Fri, 25 Oct 2019
While modern technology gives us greater accuracy for pinpointing troublesome tempests and quakes, our ability for discerning spiritual trouble and averting spiritual disaster seems to be in need o

29 Saturday week 29
By FR JULIUS OLAITAN              Fri, 25 Oct 2019
October 25, 2019 (Friday of Week 29 Year I)   Interpret the present time   Dear friends i

30 Take A Stand
By Religious              Thu, 24 Oct 2019
Jesus regarded the coming of the kingdom of God as a time of judgment.  His word of judgment was meant to help people take seriously the consequences of their choices -- either for or against